اليمن

2012

تقارير   |   إيران, اسرائيل والأراضي الفلسطينية المحتلة, البحرين, العراق, المغرب, اليمن, سوريا

عدد الصحفيين السجناء يسجل رقماً قياسياً عالمياً

المجموع العالمي لعدد الصحفيين السجناء حول العالم هو الأعلى منذ شرعت لجنة حماية الصحفيين في تقصي أعدادهم منذ العام 1990. تستخدم الحكومات تهمة الإرهاب وتهمة ارتكاب جرائم أخرى ضد الدولة لإسكات الأصوات الناقدة. تركيا هي أسوأ سجّان للصحفيين في العالم. تقرير خاص أعدته لجنة حماية الصحفيين

11/12/2012 00:01 ET

اليمن

صحفيان يمنيان يواجهان محاكمة لقيامهما بتغطية الاضطرابات

نيويورك، 15 أيار/مايو 2012 - قالت لجنة حماية الصحفيين اليوم إنه يجب على محكمة الصحافة والمطبوعات أن تُسقط الاتهامات الموجهة إلى صحفيين يعملان مع قناة 'الجزيرة' بسبب تغطيتهما للانتفاضة في العام الماضي. كما ناشدت اللجنة مجلس الوزراء اليمني بعدم إحياء مشروع القانون التقييدي لوسائل الإعلام السمعية والبصرية والإلكترونية والذي ظل قيد النظر في البرلمان منذ عام 2010.

17/05/2012 00:57 ET

اليمن

صحفيان يمنيان يتعرضان لاعتداءين؛ وصحيفة تتعرض لمضايقات

نيويورك، 3 أيار/مايو 2012 - تعرب لجنة حماية الصحفيين عن شجبها لسلسلة الاعتداءات ضد الصحافة اليمنية التي حدثت خلال الأيام العشرة الماضية، بما فيها اعتداءان على صحفيين، وتهديدات ضد صحفيين آخرين، والمضايقات الرسمية ضد صحيفة محلية.

04/05/2012 14:43 ET

اليمن

مسلحون يهاجمون صحفياً يمنياً في صنعاء

نيويورك، 12 نيسان/إبريل 2012 - تعرض الصحفي اليمني البارز محمد المقالح لاعتداء من قبل رجال مسلحين مرتبطين بجماعة قبلية بينما كان متوجهاً لزيارة منزل مسؤول حكومي، حسبما أفاد الصحفي للجنة حماية الصحفيين اليوم. وكان المقالح قد نشر مواد عديدة حول نشاطات الجماعات القبلية في اليمن.

13/04/2012 11:48 ET

هجمات على الصحافة   |   اليمن

اليمن

ردت الحكومة التي داهمتها الأحداث ومؤيدوها بشراسة على الصحفيين الذين يغطون الثورة الشعبية المطالبة بإنهاء حكم الرئيس علي عبد الله صالح، فقد عمدت السلطات إلى اعتقال الصحفيين وطرد المراسلين الأجانب ومصادرة الصحف في محاولة لمنع التغطية بينما قام مؤيدون للحكومة وعناصر أمن يرتدون ملابس مدنية بمهاجمة العاملين في الإعلام في الميدان. وقد قُتل صحفيان كانا يغطيان الاحتجاجات المناهضة للحكومة بالرصاص؛ سقط أحدهما على يد قوات الأمن التي أطلقت الرصاص الحي لتفريق المتظاهرين والآخر على يد قناص يُشتبه أنه كان يقوم بعمله نيابة عن الحكومة. وقد خصَّت الحكومة قناة 'الجزيرة' بإجراءات انتقامية لعدة أشهر بهدف إسكات تغطيتها للاحتجاجات، ففي آذار/ مارس اقتحمت عناصر حكومية بملابس مدنية مكتب القناة في صنعاء وصادرت معداته في وقت أعقب طرد السلطات لمراسليّن يعملون مع 'الجزيرة'. وبعد أيام أمرت السلطات بإغلاق مكاتب الجزيرة وسحب اعتماد صحفييها. وتعرضت مكاتب إعلامية أخرى للنيران المباشرة، فقد حاول رجال مسلحون يرتدون ملابس مدنية اقتحام مكاتب صحيفة 'الأولى' اليومية المستقلة مما أدى إلى إصابة متدرب برئاسة التحرير بجروح خطيرة بينما قصفت قوات تابعة للجيش مقر قناة 'سهيل' الفضائية اليمنية التي تعرض العاملون فيها للتهديدات والاعتقالات مراراً وتكراراً. وجاء منح جائزة نوبل للسلام لعام 2011 للناشطة اليمنية المعروفة في مجال حرية الصحافة توكل كرمان رئيسة منظمة صحفيات بلا قيود بالإضافة إلى قياديتين أفريقيتين، بمثابة توبيخ للنظام.

21/02/2012 04:55 ET

اليمن

مراسل محطة بي بي سي في اليمن يتعرض لثلاثة اعتداءات خلال عام

نيويورك، 17 شباط/فبراير 2012 - على أثر تعرض مراسل القسم العربي لمحطة ' بي بي سي' لاعتداء للمرة الثالثة خلال عام في اليمن، قالت لجنة حماية الصحفيين اليوم إنه يجب على السلطات اليمنية أن تضمن سلامة الصحفيين الذين يغطون الاحتجاجات في البلاد وحمايتهم وأن تسمح لهم بتنفيذ عملهم بحرية.

20/02/2012 21:55 ET

اليمن

مكتب صحيفة يمنية تحت الحصار

نيويورك، 9 شباط/فبراير 2012 - تطالب لجنة حماية الصحفيين السلطات اليمنية بإنهاء الحصار الذي تتعرض له مكاتب صحيفة يومية وضمان حماية صحفييها ومعداتهم. قام رجال مسلحون خلال الأسبوع الماضي بمحاصرة مكاتب صحيفتين يمنيتين، وما زالت إحداهما تحت الحصار، حسب تقارير الأنباء.

11/02/2012 13:54 ET

اليمن

الشهود في قضية صحيفة الأيام ينقلبون ضد النيابة العامة اليمنية

نيويورك، 10 كانون الثاني/يناير 2012 - أدلى شاهدان قدمتهما النيابة العامة في محاكمة الصحيفة اليمنية اليومية المحظورة 'الأيام' بشهادتين الشهر الماضي أيدا فيها قضية الدفاع، حسبما أفادت لجنة حماية الصحفيين اليوم بعد أن راجعت وثائق المحكمة.

10/01/2012 23:23 ET

Yemen

2012

Alerts   |   Yemen

Homes of two Yemeni journalists attacked

New York, November 15, 2012--Yemeni authorities must immediately investigate separate attacks on the homes of two journalists in the southern province of Daleh, the Committee to Protect Journalists said today.

Alerts   |   Somalia, Yemen

Two Somali journalists killed in Mogadishu

Nairobi, September 28, 2012--Two Somali journalists have been killed in Mogadishu in the past 24 hours, one in a brutal targeted attack, according to local journalists and news reports

September 28, 2012 4:57 PM ET

Tags:

Alerts   |   Yemen

In Yemen, two journalists face trial for covering uprisings

Yemeni protesters in Aden on May 11 call for the trial of former President Ali Abdullah Saleh. (AFP)

New York, May 15, 2012--Yemen's Press and Publications Court must drop charges against two Al-Jazeera journalists for their coverage of last year's uprising, the Committee to Protect Journalists said today. CPJ also urged the Cabinet not to revive a restrictive Audio-Visual and Electronic Media bill that has been pending in Parliament since 2010.

Alerts   |   Yemen

Yemeni journalists attacked; newspaper harassed

New York, May 3, 2012--The Committee to Protect Journalists condemns a series of anti-press attacks in Yemen over the past 10 days that have included assaults on two journalists, threats against two more, and the official harassment of a local newspaper.

Alerts   |   Yemen

Armed men attack Yemeni journalist in Sana'a

Yemeni journalist Mohammed al-Maqaleh was attacked and threatened by armed men on Saturday. (AFP/Mohamed Huwais)

New York, April 12, 2012--Prominent Yemeni journalist Muhammad al-Maqaleh was assaulted by armed men affiliated with a tribal group while visiting a government official's house, the journalist told the Committee to Protect Journalists today. Al-Maqaleh has widely reported on the activities of tribal groups in Yemen.

Attacks on the Press   |   Yemen

Attacks on the Press in 2011: Yemen

A besieged government and its supporters retaliated fiercely against journalists covering the months of popular protests that sought an end to President Ali Abdullah Saleh's rule. Authorities detained local journalists, expelled international reporters, and confiscated newspapers in an effort to silence coverage, while government supporters and plainclothes agents assaulted media workers in the field. Two journalists covering anti-government protests were killed by gunfire, one by security forces who fired live ammunition to disperse a demonstration, the other by a sniper suspected to have been acting on behalf of the government. The government singled out Al-Jazeera in a months-long effort to silence its coverage. In March, plainclothes agents raided the station's Sana'a bureau, confiscating equipment. The raid followed the expulsion of two Al-Jazeera correspondents. Days later, authorities ordered Al-Jazeera's offices shut and its journalists stripped of accreditation. Other newsrooms were under direct fire. Armed men in civilian clothes tried to storm the offices of the independent daily Al-Oula, seriously wounding an editorial trainee, while military forces shelled the Yemeni satellite broadcaster Suhail TV, whose staff endured numerous other threats and detentions. In a rebuke to the regime, the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to renowned Yemeni press freedom activist Tawakul Karman, chairwoman of Women Journalists Without Chains, along with two female African leaders.

February 21, 2012 12:12 AM ET

Alerts   |   Yemen

BBC reporter attacked in Yemen three times in past year

New York, February 17, 2012--Yemeni authorities must ensure the safety and protection of journalists covering protests in the country and allow them to carry out their work freely, the Committee to Protect Journalists said today after a BBC Arabic correspondent was attacked for the third time in a year.

February 17, 2012 2:32 PM ET

Tags:

Alerts   |   Yemen

CPJ urges Yemen to release imprisoned journalist

Abdulelah Hider Shaea has been imprisoned since 2010 on antistate charges. (AFP/Mohammed Huwais)

New York, February 15, 2012--The Committee to Protect Journalists is concerned about the health of imprisoned Yemeni journalist Abdulelah Hider Shaea who has waged a hunger strike since Sunday to protest his continued detention.

Alerts   |   Yemen

Yemeni newspaper office under siege

Yemeni protesters demonstrate in the capital Sana'a Thursday demanding active participation in the early presidential elections to be held this month. (AFP/Mohammed Huwais)

New York, February 9, 2012--The Committee to Protect Journalists calls on Yemeni authorities to end an ongoing siege at the offices of a daily newspaper and ensure the protection of journalists and their equipment. Armed men last week surrounded the offices of two Yemeni newspapers, one of which remains under attack, according to news reports.

February 9, 2012 5:58 PM ET

Tags:

Alerts   |   Yemen

Witnesses in Al-Ayyam case turn against prosecution

New York, January 10, 2012--Two prosecution witnesses at a trial of banned Yemeni daily Al-Ayyam last month testified in favor of the defense, the Committee to Protect Journalists said today after reviewing court documents.

January 10, 2012 3:31 PM ET

Tags:

« 2011 | 2013 »