Attacks on the Press   |   Botswana, Burundi, Central African Republic, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Attacks on the Press 2001: Africa Analysis

Silence reigned supreme in Eritrea, where the entire independent press was under a government ban and 11 journalists languished in jail at year's end. Clamorous, deadly power struggles raged in Zimbabwe over land and access to information, and in Burundi over ethnicity and control of state resources. South Africa, Senegal, and Benin remained relatively liberal from a press freedom perspective, while corruption and fear pervaded newsrooms in Mozambique and Togo.

March 26, 2002 12:12 PM ET


Attacks on the Press   |   Swaziland

Attacks on the Press 2001: Swaziland

Absolute ruler King Mswati III learned just how small the global village can be when he signed a June 22 media decree that was immediately denounced by human rights organizations and governments worldwide.

Decree No. 2 made it a seditious offense, punishable with a 10-year jail term, to "impersonate, insult, ridicule, or put into contempt" the king, tribal chiefs, and state officials. The decree allowed the banning of publications without appeal, removed bail for a number of press offenses, and raised penalties for libel. It also upheld a ban on the political opposition and the suspension of the Swazi Constitution, both in place since 1973.

March 26, 2002 12:01 PM ET
« 2001 | 2003 »