International Press Freedom Awards

CPJ International Press Freedom Awards 2013

23rd Annual Ceremony and Dinner
To benefit the Committee to Protect Journalists

Clockwise from top left: Nedim Şener, Janet Hinostroza, Bassem Youssef, Nguyen Van Hai (AP, Sebastián Oquendo, To Coucle Refaat, Free Journalists Network of Vietnam)

Four journalists who face imprisonment or other persecution for exposing realities in Ecuador, Egypt, Turkey, and Vietnam will be honored with the Committee to Protect Journalists' 2013 International Press Freedom Awards, an annual recognition of the courageous reporting that defines free media.

The awardees--Janet Hinostroza (Teleamazonas, Ecuador), Bassem Youssef (Egypt), Nedim Şener (Posta, Turkey) and Nguyen Van Hai (Dieu Cay, Vietnam)--are confronting severe reprisals for their work, including legal harassment, physical threats, and imprisonment. Hinostroza was forced to temporarily give up one television program to ensure her safety after being threatened; Youssef has come under legal investigation for his satirical newscast; and Şener is charged with terrorist activity for his critical reporting and could be sentenced to 15 years in prison. Nguyen Van Hai, one of Vietnam's best known bloggers, created an independent alternative in a country where all news publications are controlled by the government. Consequently, he is serving a 12-year prison sentence under a vague law that bars "conducting propaganda" against the state. 

CPJ will present Paul Steiger, founding editor-in-chief of ProPublica, with the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement in the cause of press freedom. Steiger, who served as CPJ chairman for six years, from 2005 to 2011, was managing editor of The Wall Street Journal from 1991 to 2007.

All of the winners will be honored at CPJ's annual award and benefit dinner in New York City on November 26, 2013. Scott Pelley, managing editor of "CBS Evening News," will host the event. Daniel L. Doctoroff, chief executive and president of Bloomberg L.P., is the dinner chairman.

Full press release available in Arabic, English, Spanish, and Turkish.

CPJ International Press Freedom Awards:

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Grand Ballroom

The Waldorf-Astoria

New York City

For tickets, please call CPJ's Development Office at +1 (212) 465-1004, ext. 113.


CPJ 2013 International Press Freedom Awardees:

Janet Hinostroza, Ecuador

Bassem Youssef, Egypt

Nedim Şener, Turkey

Nguyen Van Hai, Vietnam

Burton Benjamin Memorial Awardee:

Paul Steiger, United States

Media contact: Magnus Ag, Advocacy and Communications Officer; email: [email protected]; tel: +1.212.300.9007

Cándido Figueredo Ruíz (Paraguay), Raqqa is Being Slaughtered Silently (Syria), Zone 9 Bloggers (Ethiopia), Zulkiflee Anwar Ulhaque,“Zunar” (Malaysia)

Aung Zaw (Burma), Siamak Ghaderi (Iran), Mikhail Zygar (Russia), Ferial Haffajee (South Africa)

Janet Hinostroza (Ecuador), Bassem Youssef (Egypt), Nedim Şener (Turkey), Nguyen Van Hai (Vietnam)

Mauri König (Brazil), Dhondup Wangchen (China), Azimjon Askarov (Kyrgyzstan), Mae Azango (Liberia)

Mansoor al-Jamri (Bahrain), Natalya Radina (Belarus), Javier Valdez Cárdenas (Mexico), Umar Cheema (Pakistan)

Mohammad Davari (Iran), Nadira Isayeva (Russia), Dawit Kebede (Ethiopia), Laureano Márquez (Venezuela)

Mustafa Haji Abdinur (Somalia), Naziha Réjiba (Tunisia), Eynulla Fatullayev (Azerbijan), J.S. Tissainayagam (Sri Lanka)

Bilal Hussein (Iraq), Danish Karokhel and Farida Nekzad (Afghanistan), Andrew Mwenda (Uganda), Hector Maseda Gutiérrez (Cuba)

Dmitry Muratov (Russia), Mazhar Abbas (Pakistan), Adela Navarro Bello (Mexico), Gao Qinrong (China)

Jesús Abad Colorado (Colombia), Jamal Amer (Yemen), Madi Ceesay (The Gambia), Atwar Bahjat (Iraq)

Galima Bukharbaeva (Uzbekistan), Beatrice Mtetwa (Zimbabwe), Lúcio Flávio Pinto (Brazil), Shi Tao (China)

Svetlana Kalinkina (Belarus), Aung Pwint and Thaung Tun (Burma), Alexis Sinduhije (Burundi), Paul Klebnikov (United States)

Abdul Samay Hamed (Afghanistan), Aboubakr Jamai (Morocco), Musa Muradov (Russia), Manuel Vázquez Portal (Cuba)

Ignacio Gómez (Colombia), Tipu Sultan (Bangladesh), Irina Petrushova (Kazakhstan), Fesshaye Yohannes (Eritrea)

Jiang Weiping (China), Geoff Nyarota (Zimbabwe), Horacio Verbitsky (Argentina), Mazen Dana (West Bank)

Zeljko Kopanja (Bosnia-Herzegovina), Modeste Mutinga (DRC), Steven Gan (Malaysia), Mashallah Shamsolvaezin (Iran)

Jesús Joel Díaz Hernández (Cuba), Baton Haxhiu (Kosovo), Jugnu Mohsin and Najam Sethi (Pakistan), María Cristina Caballero (Columbia)

Grémah Boucar (Niger), Gustavo Gorriti (Panama), Pavel Sheremet (Belarus), Ruth Simon (Eritrea)

Viktor Ivancic (Croatia), Freedom Neruda (Ivory Coast), Christine Anyanwu (Nigeria). Ying Chan (United States) and Shieh Chung-Liang (Taiwan)

Ocak Isik Yurtçu (Turkey), Daoud Kuttab (Palestinian Authority), J. Jesus Blancornelas (Mexico), Yusuf Jameel (India)